The planets classified in relation to the sun and by size

The planets of the solar system ordered in relation to the sun

The solar system consists ofa star, the sunto gravitate around eight planets. The satellites of these planets, dwarf planets and billions of small bodies such as asteroids and comets orbit the sun.

These eight planets are: Mercury, Venus, Earth, Mars, Jupiter, Saturn, Uranus and Neptune. Being part of the solar system, they are generally classified according to their distance from the sun.

Some of these planets are rocky (known as telluric): Mercury, Venus, Earth, and Mars. They have a solid surface. Others are gaseous: Jupiter, Saturn, Uranus and Neptune. They are made of gas. Rocky planets are closest to the sun. And the gas planets are furthest away. Take a closer look…

Mercury, the smallest planet closest to the sun!

Mercury owes its name to the Roman god Mercury. In addition, it was discovered in ancient times.

Mercury is the planet closest to the sun (58,000,000 km away)but also the smallest in the solar system.

It’s a rocky planet. It’s made of rocks. It has a diameter of 4,900 kilometers. Its surface temperature varies between -183°C and +427°C. And the duration of its rotation around the Sun is 88 Earth days. This planet has no natural satellite.

Venus, second planet in the solar system closest to the sun

Venus owes her name to the Roman goddess of love. Very bright in the sky, she is nicknamed the evening star”. It is also called the “Evening Star” or “Morning Star” because it is one of the first planets seen in the evening and the last in the morning.

Venus is the Second closest planet to the sun, after that of Mercury. It is also the sixth largest planet in the solar system in terms of diameter and mass. This near-Earth-sized rocky planet is also the hottest in the solar system.

4.5 billion year old Venus can be recognized by its dense atmosphere and distinctive colors ranging from yellow to orange.

Earth, the third planet in order of distance from the sun

The name of the earth refers to Terra, the Roman goddess of the earth. The earth is sometimes called Gaia in memory of the Greek goddess of the fertility of the earth and soil. She is often nicknamed “Blue Planet” because of the vastness of the oceans and seas that make up 25% of the earth’s surface. It is the only known planet that has living things.

Earth is the 3rd planet in the solar system in distance from the Sun, its star, behind Mercury and Venus. But the “blue planet” is fifth in size and mass after the four gas giant planets (Jupiter, Saturn, Uranus and Neptune).

That earth revolution around the sun takes 365 days, 6 hours and 9 minutes. The earth revolves around itself in 23 hours, 56 minutes and 4.2 seconds and not in 24 hours! But since it’s moving 1 degree per day in its orbit around the Sun, it takes 24 hours to catch up.

The earth is 4 billion 540 million years old while the sun is 4 billion 568 million years old.

The Earth, also called the “Blue Planet”.


Mars, the fourth planet in our solar system from the sun

This planet in the solar system takes its name from the Roman god of war, Mars, because of its reddish color resembling blood, caused by the iron oxides on its surface. This is also the reason why Mars is nicknamed “red planet”. Because of its color, it’s easy to find Mars in the sky, even with the naked eye!

Mars is the 4th planet in our solar system from its star, the Sun. In relation to its size, it lies directly behind Mercury.

Mars, also called the “Red Planet”.

© Freepik

Jupiter: the largest planet in the solar system

Jupiter is gigantic. The planet is that 5th planet in our solar system and also the largest. It is 11 times the diameter of Earth and 1,320 times larger in volume. No wonder, then, that he was given the name of the most powerful of all gods in Roman mythology: Jupiter!

But Jupiter is a gaseous planet. It has no solid surface. To date, therefore, it is impossible to land there with a machine and an astronaut like Neil Armstrong and Buzz Eldrin, the heroes of space conquest. In addition, this planet of the solar system is sometimes swept by violent winds that can reach more than 600 km/h.

Saturn, giant planet and sixth planet from the sun

The name Saturn comes from the Roman god of the same name, the god of time and death. In English, Saturn gave its name to Saturday, meaning Saturday, the sixth day of the week.

This gaseous planet is known for its spectacular rings, consisting of pieces of ice and dust. Saturn has no solid surface.

After Jupiter, Saturn occupies the 6th position from the Sun, and it is Second largest planet in the solar system. It has a diameter nine times that of Earth.

Uranus, the third largest planet in the solar system

Uranus is named after the Greek god of the sky, Ouranos. This is the father of Cronos and the grandfather of Zeus in Greek mythology.

Uranus is mostly gas green and blue. It is the first planet discovered with a telescope.

Uranus is that 6th planet in the solar system in terms of distance, and the third largest after Saturn. Its diameter is just over 50,000 km, or four times the diameter of the Earth.

Neptune, the most distant planet in the solar system from the sun

The planet’s name comes from Neptune, the Roman god of the sea, formed from multiple gases and blue in color due to methane.

Neptune is the 8th and last planet in the solar system. In short, furthest from its star, the Sun! It is also fifth in size after Earth.

Neptune is slightly smaller than Uranus and more massive, at almost 103,000 billion tons versus 86,000 for Uranus. It is the densest of the four gas giant planets.

Leave a Comment